Leadership Team & BoT

Board of Trustees

Shirley Harvey-Chairperson

Kia Ora,I am Whangarei born and have been married for 29 years with 2 beautiful adult children. I currently work in the disability sector for Tai Mahi Trust a service new to Whangarei. My Role is Trainee Support Coordinator working with adults with disablities to develop skills and gain employment. I have a varied working background with past roles at Workbridge as a Work Broker, Ministry of Social Development as an Assistant Manager, and NorthAble Disability Services as the Client Service Manager running the Vocational Services. I am excited to be part of the Blomfield team as we look forward to an exciting future.

Kristy Kewene

I am a returning member of the Blomfield School Board of Trustees. I was inspired to put myself forward after we experienced the respectful caring holistic and unrelenting drive of the people working with James to help him achieve his full potential. I am a Chartered Accountant working in town with my partner Brett. We have a logging and forestry company. We have two children, Naomi who is at University and James who is at Blomfield Special School and Resource centre at Base school. In my spare time I enjoy Saturday morning garage sales, geocaching and learning about/growing food using biodynamics principles. I am looking forward to raising the profile of our school and through my life experiences support Blomfield to deliver its Charter.

Emma Watson

Kia Ora, I am the mother of Tyler who is in Transition at Blomfield School and Ethan who attends Pompallier Catholic College in Maunu. I enjoy walking, reading, crafts and cooking and we enjoy spending time as a family being outside at the wonderful beaches and bush New Zealand has to offer. I believe the Blomfield Board of Trustees are focussed on the best for the children and helping them to be as independent as they can be with the help of the staff at Blomfield Special School and their parents and whanau.

Gemma Bradburn

I am Mum to three amazing kids. Caleb 8 attends Blomfield School, Jayden 6 and Aria 4. Caleb has attended Blomfield since he was 5 and has been in classes both at Base and Morningside Satellite. I have a great appreciation for the work done at Blomfield School. I work at One Tree Point School as the Deputy Principal and have been teaching for 18 years. I have previously served as a Trustee for the Angelman Nework NZ where I worked to advocate, network and improve services for families across NZ.

Carol Clunie

Kia Ora Koutou. This is my third term as Staff Trustee for the Blomfield Special School Board of Trustees. I have had the privilege of working in the Blomfield community for many years and have learnt a lot from our students. I am married with three adult children. In my downtime I like watching and participating in a variety of sports reading and listening to music. I also love spending time with my whanau and friends. I look forward to developing a stronger profile for our school in the community and Te Tai Tokerau.

Leadership Team

Sally Wilkinson
Karen van Beek
Deputy Principal - Whole school and Kaitaia
Edward Jones
Assistant Principal - Central Campus and Oromahoe
Rhoda Little
Assistant Principal - Whangarei Satellites

Team Leaders

Denise Poole
Specialists Team Leader and Speech Language Therapist
Pam Keegan
Property Coordinator
Jessica Megerney
Personnel coordinator
Kirsty Hughes
Outreach  Leader
Catherine Macpherson
Administration Leader

Site Managers

Tracy Chapman
Site Manager and Teacher Matai
Lisa Hayns
Site Manager and Teacher Nikau
Tinaka Pawa
Site Manager and Teacher Room 16
Shahni Judkins
Site Manager and Teacher Piwakawaka
Nadine Learmond
Site Manager and Teacher Room 14
Sue Mitchell
Site Manager and Teacher Te Puna Aroha